Simple Needs

My 17 year old has very clear ideas about his future.  The grand scheme of things – he has it worked out to the last detail.  And it’s pretty simple.  He wants to make a difference, and he wants to do it on his own terms. “You know – not be somebody who… just lived and died?”

The collaterals, of course, include being a philanthropic multi-millionaire who revolutionizes the world art scene, and has a band that does the same to the music scene – all without compromising on what he believes in.  “Why, Picasso has done it.  So had Da Vinci.” Well, if they could do it, why can’t my son?

What he has problems with are the nitty-gritties.  Like how to get there.  Like learning Business Studies for his test tomorrow, or Economics for the day after.  He considers it nothing less than a sacrilege that he is expected to study Accountancy after he has come back from a long, tiring day at school.  He’d rather research on the Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle.

“You could have taken science then,” I tell him reproachfully.

“You’ve got to be joking!  You think Physics would’ve been half as interesting if it were forced on me?” he asks, incredulous.  I wonder if I can answer that honestly, and still maintain my dignity.  I needn’t have worried.

“Seriously, I could have tolerated even that – Physics forced on me, I mean.  But Chemistry?  How could I have spent precious years of my life learning Chemistry?” The word sounds suspiciously like a profanity, coming from his mouth.  The only ‘subject’ in his syllabus that we have seen him ‘study’ with obvious enjoyment is Fine Arts.  He spends hours sketching, and lovingly tries out combining water colours and markers. 

Do I need to mention that my son is not the typical over-achiever of his batch?  He is certainly not the epitome of driving ambition that gets a person gold medals and ranks.  Whatever claims to fame he has, lie neglected in the second drawer of his study table.

This casual attitude of his bothers me no end.  I may be his mother, but I’m human, after all.  I can’t help having panic attacks every once in a while about the future of my son who has very unconventional ideas about studies, and life itself.

Anyway, my son’s needs, as I mentioned before, are simple: he’s just looking for a good university.  A good university that provides an undergraduate course in Product Design, along with History of Art (with special focus on the Renaissance period), and allows him to pursue his interest in Theoretical Physics and Divine Geometry, with a bit of Anthropology thrown in.  Now, if the university is lenient enough to let him come home to his drum set and keyboard at the end of the day, it would be great.  If it doesn’t, at least it should be decent enough to provide him with a facility that can board not just him, but his drums et al as well.   Oh, and a full scholarship would be amazing!

Is it too much to ask for?

 

 

Leave a Reply

